My Open Source Contribution Journey as a Cybersecurity Professional

My Open Source Contribution Journey as a Cybersecurity Professional

As one learns and grows, the need to expand one’s skill set becomes increasingly evident. Coming from a cybersecurity background where open source is not often talked about, venturing into non-engineering contributions within open source projects has offered a unique opportunity for professional development and community engagement. With real-world experiences gained from working with three different organizations, I have gained firsthand experience in crafting outreach strategies, writing comprehensive documentation, orchestrating effective marketing campaigns, and measuring the results.

These experiences have not only broadened my perspective but have also equipped me with invaluable skills. At the end of the day, open-source contribution is not about competition but collaboration. I advise you to allow yourself to learn, grow, and embrace the transferable skills within the collaborative spirit of open-source communities.

Join me as I showcase the highlights of my experience as a Community Architect Intern, highlighting my open-source contributions with Fedora during my time as an Outreachy applicant.

Prerequisite Tasks

Description: These are tasks that all applicants must complete to be considered during the Fedora application.

  1. Setting up a Fedora Account system (Issue 153)

  2. Setting up a personal blog (Issue 154)

  3. Write a blog that introduces the Fedora community to your audience (Issue 155)

  4. Promote your introductory blog on social media (Issue 156)

  5. Onboarding guide for 2025 Outreachy applicants (Issue 157)

Outcome of the Prerequisite Tasks

Description: These are tickets I created and Issues I got assigned to

1. Social Media Post Commemorating International Women’s Day (IWD)

Outcomes: Fosstodon here, LinkedIn here, Twitter here

2. Make a list of DEI-related holidays

3. What’s new in F40 Workstation (Issue 265) - Image Editor

4. Proposal to Push on our Social Media handles SCaLE 21x (Issue 160)

5. Write and Article For Fedora Magazine (Issue 148)

Outcome: here

6. Announcing Fedora Linux 40 Beta (Issue #264) - Image Editor

7. Thank You 7k YouTube Subscribers (Issue 175) - Pending Approval

8. CommBlog article to promote FWD (Issue 17)

9. FWD Graphics for Social Media Promotion (Issue 15)

10. CommBlog article to promote FMS (Issue 11)

11. FMS Graphics for Social Media Promotion (Issue 9)

  1. Release Announcement for Fedora Linux 40 (Issue 266) - Image Editor
  1. Outreachy onboarding process (Issue 140)

  2. Make a list of DEI-related holidays (Issue 147)

  3. Promote Fedora 40 Beta (Issue 172)

Outcomes: Fedora Magazine here, Twitter here, LinkedIn here

  1. Social Media planning for Fedora 40 release (Issue 138)

  2. Help Fedora COSMIC get off the ground (Issue 136)

  3. Help us organize Fedora Week of Diversity 2024 - (Project Discussion)

  4. Promoting Fedora @SCaLE 21x (Issue 139)

  5. Outreach Onboarding Process (Issue 140)

  6. Write and Article (Issue 148)

  7. Flock 2024 Call For Proposal - CFP (Issue 267)

Summaries of where changes were needed

Highlight of my Biggest Contribution

My biggest contribution during this phase has been how quickly I learned the ropes, collaborated with other contributors, and created unique social media designs for the team. As I always say, one of the most interesting aspects of Fedora is its inclusivity. It's commendable how people from diverse IT backgrounds come together to achieve common goals without looking down on anyone.

For instance, while collaborating with the design team, I encountered Inkscape. Despite being proficient in other design tools like Photoshop and Canva, I seized the opportunity to learn Inkscape. The team's support, including providing resources like the Brand Handbook and Logo Repository, as well as offering constructive feedback, was invaluable. Their willingness to assist made the transition seamless, and I quickly felt like an integral part of the team. This phase of learning and growth has been one of the highlights of my journey, and it's an experience I would love to continue.

Additionally, I've learned to be proactive and refine my tone in articles for community blogs, magazines, and social media posts to suit each audience (note that the audiences are not the same). Most importantly, I've learned how to contribute to issues, create tickets, monitor them, and escalate for urgent responses, which will be very helpful during the internship. I’m currently learning Penpot for design and prototyping, while also deepening my understanding of running successful outreach campaigns and evaluating their impact—identifying what's working, what's not, and how to enhance outreach efforts. I hope to make a difference when given the opportunity to showcase my expertise.

P.S.: All tickets, tasks and contributions are being supervised, approved, assigned, and provided with feedback by my mentors.

Also, feel free to explore my journey further by viewing my CV, where you can find comprehensive details about my background, experiences, and skills.

📷Photo Credit: iStock photo